Reverse Polarity

sel1005

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
First off, let me say that I am NOT an electrician, have zero expertise in that area. Having said that, I need your help.....

Boat has been on the lift for a few months now, connected to shore power, all was well....

Went down today to check things and my helm fan (plugged into helm outlet) was not running. Did some tests and here is what I found:

1. shore power shows on and available on the control panel; 110-120V tester on the dock plugs show fine; I don't have a 240V tester however, so can't test the shore cord going to the boat
2. either on Shore 1 or 2, the control panel breaker is off; if I try to reset, it flashes reverse polarity and immediately flips back off

where do I go from here?

A. thinking I should try a different shore power cord to the boat?
B. buy a 240V tester and try the dock power plug?
C. lower the boat in the water and see if things will run on the generator, try to isolate it to the shore power?
D.???

Other than what the GW boat manual suggests, "have an qualified electrician check things out", what else would you recommend I try?

Thanks much for your help!

seasick

Reaction score
How did you test the 120 at the dock? Did you use a voltmeter or did you use a tester that checks polarity, grounding, neutral etc.?

Are you connecting 220 to the boat or dual 120s. If the former, the 220 outlet could be wired incorrectly even if the 120s are correct. It is tought to diagnose from here. I don't know if the dock service is 3 phase or single phase. There may also be an issue on the vessel. If you are unfamiliar with electric work, especially marine electric, I kind of agree that a pro should look at it.

sel1005

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score