Sailfish Transom/Fiberglass Question

OBX Grady

Reaction score
I found a 2000 272 for a relatively low price but I found quite a few areas that concern me. Not being a fiberglass expert myself, could someone look at these pictures and tell me if I should run from or go jump on the opportunity. My wife and I are now in the market for a 272 and the 99-01 years are in our price range. Thank you for the help. 1B1CC74A-18D6-4A3D-BBA3-CF3B3086C328.jpeg3E37FE53-B640-40C7-AF9B-D02239381006.jpegAA67A790-601B-4F03-AD46-A13B6FFAC5B9.jpeg

DennisG01

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
Model
Offshore
Run from it? No. But get a hull survey done by a reputable surveyor. DON'T shop for a surveyor by price, alone. Any Joe Schmoe can become a surveyor - ask around for references. And even a potential surveyor for some sample/previous surveys to look at.

It could be an easy fix with no internal damage... or there could be some transom core issues. It's all fixable, but with the survey in hand, you can use that to your advantage during negotiations. Of course, if the deal is "that good", then maybe the owner has already accounted for the repair in his price.

Get an engine survey, too.

Just looking at those pictures, though... It doesn't worry me. But it's kinda hard to "really" tell from here in PA.

Reactions: ScottyCee

SkunkBoat

Reaction score
Website
www.youtube.com
Model
Express 265
I don't have experience with a 2000 272 but I would say that usually, on transoms in general, there is not a seam in the fiberglass in those corners.
There is a seam under the aluminum.

I would hesitate. I would need the boat out of the water to check the transom. I would have to remove all that caulk and get a good look.
I would ask if the transom was "repaired" at any time.

Fishtales

Reaction score