Seems to be sitting a little low

Norcoastal

Reaction score
First day out with my new 2023 Mercury 200 4-Stroke today. The motor is a dream. I’ve been restoring my 1988 Seafarer 228 for the past two years.

When I took her out today, water was coming in the scuppers in the back on the deck. I’m wondering if it’s a bit too heavy? Underway she was great, dry as a bone. It only happens if your at rest and standing in the stern on either the starboard or the port sides.

My boat doesn’t have a hardtop and I’m searching for one now; I wonder if the weight in the front would help or hurt?

Thanks

SkunkBoat

Reaction score
Website
www.youtube.com
Model
Express 265
Adding weight forward does not raise the stern. It just lowers the bow and possibly the whole boat.

I'm surprised because the new Mercs are not much heavier than a 2 stroke.

Check the scupper flaps. Inspect your 30 year old scupper hoses.

Norcoastal

Reaction score
The bilge went off at first when I put it in the water, but I assumed that was rain water from the bow. I keep it on a lift. But then the pump stopped stopped.

There was no water in the bilge at all. It was dry. Just the scuppers

Fishermanbb

Reaction score
Did you relocate batteries or something. Add weight elsewhere? I assume you are sure the boat is dry? No way a 200HP Merc. should put those scuppers under water under normal conditions. Is the bracket dry? Any chance you replaced the scupper hoses and routed them slightly different? Just some wild guesses but that should not be happening on that hull.

Norcoastal

Reaction score
When I had the tanks checked, the front tank wasn't usable but the back one was. I had it pressure tested and cleaned but I'm only using the rear tank. Could that be it?