Show me your custom baitwell

Lug Man

Reaction score
Newbie here. :noob
I've been restoring a 1988 228G seafarer WAC with single 200HP outboard.
I really want a bigger bait well, and would like to modify the transom well to be a general storage area
that is easily removed to access the bilge. If you have pictures of this type of mod, please share your ideas,
trials, and tribulations so I can figure out how to carry more live bait to the blue waters of NE Florida.

Thanks all!
and FISH ON!

enfish

Reaction score
Model
Adventure
You could always go with a "west coast" style bait tank from Offshore Products (http://www.offshoreproducts.com/), Pacific Edge (http://www.pacificedgetackle.com/category.aspx?categoryID=40), Kodiak (http://www.kodiakmarine.com/)

I have a Kodiak PF32 in my 208, which is functional but not the prettiest tank in the world. The fiberglass tanks are very nice, and the manufacturers have ones that match the Grady gelcoat. You can kind of see it in this photo:

BaitTankDorado.jpg

Here are a few more photos of installations I found doing a Google search. Maybe they'll give you some ideas...

187316d1269285783-2004-grady-white-228-just-reduced-without-oceanside-slip-pict0995.jpg

grady05.jpg

BasicInfoSize-Center-Console-Other-123886-Bait-tank.jpg

30972d1142041987-bait-tank-picture-003.jpg

Lug Man

Reaction score
Thanks for that info.

If I decide to go with a baitwell in the middle of the deck, I will have to figure out a better fish box solution.
Right now I use a LARGE cooler for a fishbox, since I don't have one in the floor.

What are you using for a fish box on your boat>?

enfish

Reaction score
Model
Adventure
I use the under step live well and storage areas on either side of the cuddy. If it's a good day and those get full, then a large cooler on the cuddy floor gets filled, but that doesn't happen as often as I'd like! I found a cooler that fits on the floor perfectly with the center cushions removed.