Splitting the difference

Greg B

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
I have a 268 Islander and a 180 Sportsman and have decided to sell both and get either a 222 or a 257, though my wife would prefer a cabin. Looking for anyone that has experience with both - I'd be trailering including a once a year round trip from FL to NC. Trying to weigh the advance of the extra length vs more to tow.
Thanks
Greg

ocnslr

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
Model
Islander
I have no experience with either of those boats, but I do have a lot of experience with the "Happiness Rule".

It's really basic. If she's happy, you may or may not be happy, but if she's not happy, then there is no way you will be happy.... :D

So, make sure your wife is happy..

NOTHING ELSE MATTERS

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
Boating rule when boating with wife:"Make sure SHE likes the boat more than you"(if that is possible).
As far as the 222, i think is THE best 22 foot c/c out there, period. The 257 is a great boat too, i have been in both(never trailered one) and i can say i liked the 222 ride a bit better, maybe i'm biased cause i really like center consoles, but if you and SHE likes the cabin style, you can't go wrong with the 257. Good luck and make sure she happy.

Greg B

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
NOTHING ELSE MATTERS said:
Boating rule when boating with wife:"Make sure SHE likes the boat more than you"(if that is possible).
As far as the 222, i think is THE best 22 foot c/c out there, period. The 257 is a great boat too, i have been in both(never trailered one) and i can say i liked the 222 ride a bit better, maybe i'm biased cause i really like center consoles, but if you and SHE likes the cabin style, you can't go wrong with the 257. Good luck and make sure she happy.

The 257 is the larger CC, the 258 Journey is the walkaround. If I was getting another cabin model, I'd give up on trailering and show her the 33 Express.

Bama96

Reaction score