Survey Shows Elevated Moisture in 2002 Islander Transom

Toothpick 10

Reaction score
Model
Islander
I received a pre-purchase survey report that included the following information on the transom:

"Transom moisture readings were relatively high (25% - 30%) across the entire encased transom. Some moisture is not unusual for vessels of the age. Normal wood moisture is approximately 10 - 15%. Transom sounded with percussion hammer and no delamination was found."

The surveyor said that he did not see this as a reason not to by the boat. I am very concerned about purchasing this boat given the moisture readings and what I have heard about Grady transom issues. I'd appreciate some informed opinions.

The remainder of the survey was positive.

Thank you.

Fishtales

Reaction score
I'd expect some moisture given age, but I am no expert on what is reasonable.
Would be interesting to see a set of moisture readings over a series of years for a boat. Or someone just walk a yard and check a bunch of boats. Would be interesting to see how many pick up moisture and to what degree over the years.

In the end, you could find a boat that has low moisture readings and it could be a headache in other areas.

If you like the boat, negotiate the concern but be ready to walk if you don't get the deal you want. If you have to do the transom later, you either learn or pay. If not, you got a winner.

Toothpick 10

Reaction score
Model
Islander
Fishtales said:
I'd expect some moisture given age, but I am no expert on what is reasonable.
Would be interesting to see a set of moisture readings over a series of years for a boat. Or someone just walk a yard and check a bunch of boats. Would be interesting to see how many pick up moisture and to what degree over the years.

In the end, you could find a boat that has low moisture readings and it could be a headache in other areas.