To fog or not to fog OX66 250hp

cobrapowersys

Reaction score
So I am new to winterizing my Yamaha OX66 to 250 hp and I have been getting conflicting information on the web. specifically some guys say it is a good idea to fog the engine while others are strictly opposed to it. So I am wondering what do you folks recommend first on that engine I do not see a visible carburetor to spray fogging oil and secondly is there a different location to fog. Any input would be appreciated.

max366

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
I used to have twin OX66 200HP motors (which were fantastic) and routinely fogged them for the winter. Took off the black air intake plenum which exposed the throttle plates. Careful when removing the screws that hold on the air intake. Run the engine at slightly above idle and spray in fogging oil to each of the air intakes. I used the plastic tube on the fogging oil to go through the small hole on the throttle plate. Spray 5 sec or so in each intake, then put it at idle. Get good smoke out the exhaust and then really hit it with oil until it quits- you're done. Some people remove each plug and squirt in more oil but based on the smoke I got in the spring, lots of oil was protecting the engine. Why would anyone think that fogging an engine would not be a good thing?

cobrapowersys

Reaction score
When you say really hit it until it quits do you spray for 5 seconds in each port and then choose one of the ports to spray longer until it stalls or do you evenly spray in each port until you see it stall. And I remember to years ago my boat mechanic definitely fogged my engine but on T HT there are a number of guys that are extremely against fogging that engine as they claim the manufacturer does not recommend doing so. personally I am definitely leaning towards fogging it for the winter but I don't want to do anything that will harm it as she is a 2001 and is not a newbie. She runs suberbly and I don't want to mess that up

max366

GreatGrady Captain