Torque Tab on lower unit GONE!

grady23

Reaction score
Hi guys --- I'm talking about the tab on the lower unit that is adjusted to off-set prop torque. I installed new ones last fall and when I got to the boat last week, boat is trailered, I noticed that the right hand engine had the tab MISSING. The guy at the marina said they come off all the time. I have been turning wrenches for over 45 years and just find it hard to believe that a bolt could loosen enough for the tab to fall off. That would mean the tab or bolt would need to spin around at least 8 revolutions. The rubber stopper was still in place and the bolt still in the hole when I found this. Did I get ripped off?? OR just something that "Happened"???

Slacktime

Reaction score
Lost two last season. new bolts and Loctite

Curmudgeon

Reaction score
The rubber stopper was still in place and the bolt still in the hole when I found this.

:hmm Come on, guys, plugs and bolts don't replace themselves. He was ripped off ...

Parthery

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
I've lost them as well. If the rubber stopper and bolt was in place, then the zinc split and the anode came off. If the bolt is missing, then someone with sticky fingers probably helped themselves.

grady33

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
Model
Express 330
I seriously doubt someone would jump in the water to remove a engine anode. Sort of hard to get to in my opinion. Now on land that might be a different story but i'm telling you I had at least 2 fall off last year - both times on the same engine. Wouldn't they steal both? Something with those bolts or brand of anode I guess.

Attachments

• underwater lights photo.jpeg
    underwater lights photo.jpeg
    230.9 KB · Views: 3,235

Curmudgeon

Reaction score
I seriously doubt someone would jump in the water to remove a engine anode.

:uhm So do I, but the boat was on a trailer! Never heard of one splitting, more likely to just lose the fin (have seen that) ...

DennisG01

GreatGrady Captain