Tournament 205 with Shore Power?

T_Wrecks

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I'm looking to slip my 2005 Tournament 205 this year, and I'm realizing that I don't have a shore power hookup. This is my first time keeping any of my boats in the water, so please forgive my ignorance.

I'm curious as to what everyone does in order to keep their battery's charged, and their bilges functional in this situation. I was looking at a shore power to standard outlet end with a battery tender hooked up to the other end, but I'm concerned about leaving that connected all of the time. Am I crazy, or is there another option?

Thanks in advance,

-Travis

seasick

Reaction score
The quality of the battery maintainer is important. If you go that route get a decent unit. Your concerns are valid since a poor wiring approach can cause a fire or galvanic action at the slip which can eat at your sacrificial anodes and then not so sacrificials as well as any neighbors. So...
Choose a charger that is rated for wet areas. Confirm that you have an are to 'mount' it that is mostly dry and at a minimum is not subject to rain water flow. The connection between the charger and the power chord must also be kept away from water.
My question is whether you need a charger at all. If you turn your battery (s) off when slipped, do not have excessive parasitic draw ( as you might for a some stereos, alarm or electronic bilge pump) you batter will hold a decent charge for a long time assuming it is in good shape. The variable is the bilge pump. That can run down a battery quickly if it cycles frequently. If your bilge is dry and the bilge pump rarely if ever runs, you may not need a charger.
It is difficult to know if your bilge pump cycles while at the dock if you are not at the boat or don't have a way to tell if it has run. Some folks add a 12v timer meter to let them know if the pump has run. You have to keep a record of the readings or get a meter that you can reset.