Trolling spread

Fishshoreman

Reaction score
Hi guys,

Just wondering what you folks use/prefer in your spreads? What types of rod/reel combos? I am on a budget and have been buying some used equipment when I see good prices. Currently I have 3 Penn 30's single speeds(two on full roller tuna sticks, one on a Penn mariner), 1 Penn 50 two speed (on a Penn standup tuna stick Roller tip), 2 Diawa Sealine tournament 30's single speed (on matching IGFA roller rods), and one Penn senator 113H on a penn slammer rod. I am looking for two Penn 114H reels on penn senator rods.

My spread would look like this:
center rigger: Penn 50
outriggers: one each Penn 30 or Diawa 30
Flatlines: two Penn 114H
Does this sound like a good setup? I am relatively new to offshore fishing on this boat but have been fishing offshore on my buddy's 26 Sea Hunt for a couple of years. I am trying to get geared up for next year.

Any comments or criticism is welcome.

Thanks,

Ed

grady33

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
Model
Express 330
Probably depends on what you are targeting. I fish off OCMD and target anything from bluefin, yft, wahoo, mahi, marlin, shark, etc. We fish 7-8 rods (all shamanos). I like the 50s on the long diggers and way way back and short diggers. Flat lines we use 30s. We also deploy a down rigger using a 50. We tend to have a mix unless we are strictly targeting white marlin or bluefins. I will be picking up 1 80 soon to use for way back or targeting blue marking or large bluefins. Also spread depends on size boat.

Grog

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score