Washdown and Live Well

dencaw

Reaction score
Hi,

I am new to my 1991 25' Grady Sailfish and am trying to figure everything out (some of you may have read my other recent post). This question is involving the Y valve located on the port side secured on the stern (picture provided). I can't get either the washdown or the live well to work. On my dash I have two switches that I think are relevant. The first is the "live well" switch, the other the "pressure water" switch. And I have also tried to put on every other "accessory" switch as well. When the "live well" switch is on, I do hear a pump in the stern running, and the noise seems to be coming from under the port battery compartment, just didn't have time to lift the hatches. With the y valve in any position, I get no water either to the washdown spicket or the live weill. What is strange, at least to me is that the house to the left in the picture is designated as the live well, but really goes to the water spicket just left of the battery compartment. The hose to the right designated washdown runs to the live well behind the passenger seat at the helm. Is this right? Anyway, no matter where I have the y valve lever, I get no water anywhere. First, I assume that this is a fresh water washdown since I have no hose coming from any salt water intake. So that's why I tried using the "pressure water" switch at the helm as well to see if that is what is needed. Still nothing. Do I need to prime these hoses with water to get them to work? I hear the pump so I know something is happening. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Attachments

• black and white valve.jpg
    black and white valve.jpg
    124.9 KB · Views: 4,406

cgmiller

Reaction score
Den,
The first thing you have to check is to find the thru hull/seacock that lets seawater get to the washdown/livellwell pump that you hear running. The seacock might be closed and you are not getting any water to the pump. I found mine deep in the rear bilge.