water where it shouldn't be

wdlfbio

Reaction score
It's a 2007 282 Sailfish. got it at the beginning of summer, so I'm still learning tons.

Took it out a few weekends ago and had some chovies die off in the bait well and get stuck in the standoff. Caused it to overflow onto the deck. Noticed a few inches of water in the cabinet above the baitwell too.

Two weekends ago it happened twice more. And again water in the cabinet above. So, for that, I think I need a larger box (wire mesh) around the top of the standoff so dead/dying baits can't get pinned against it and clog it. I did look under the bait well via the little round port at the back of the single sleeping area and didn't see any signs of water in that area.

Also had water in the forward bilge for the first time two weekends ago. It was kinda white and frothy at times. Water was getting in throughout the day. we were out tuna fishing and I ran the bilge several times to pump it out. The evening before I ran the heater for the first time (shore power hooked up all night). at then end of the trip, a friend noticed the JABSCO indicator light flahing (the one to the right of the head if you are sitting). Now, I have never used the head and am certain it has never been used. I don't even know if there is fresh water in the holding tank.

Sorry the photo is sideways
IMG-20100901-00010.jpg

So, anyone have any idea what is going on with this stuff?

Grog

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
Ditto

All the seacocks should be closed when not in use.

wdlfbio

Reaction score
The seacock for the AC was closed before we left the dock. I suspect the 30g fresh water tank is the one in the stern bilge area and the 10 gallon waste holding tank is the one in the forward bilge, under the midship bed???

Anyone know what the flashing light on the JABSCO switch thing means? The toilet's little manual doesn't even mention it.