Which antifouling paint type should I use?

mous

Reaction score
Hi there,
I own a 2004 Grady White 228 for the past 7 years. It was trailer-stored only during the past 7 years. Now, I moved to the south Mediterranean and have to wet berth it for weeks/months. The boat was bottom painted by the original owner in Ohio but after 7 years and 350 hours of use, the antifouling paint is gone (just green tinge in some areas). I’ll be keeping the boat on the water for a few weeks/months and on the trailer for a few weeks/months. So it will be dry and wet stored interchangeably.
I am new to antifouling and appreciate your feedback about

1. Which type of antifouling paint should I use hard, ablative, or else?
2. what should I do to the antifouling when I dry store the boat for few weeks then wet berth? any special precautions?
3. Do I need to sand the bottom with fine-grit sandpaper such as 180 or 220-grit or apply paint remover before painting it? Almost all the antifouling was gone years ago?
4. Can I use ... Hempel Hard racing (https://www.hempel.co.uk/en-GB/products/hempels-hard-racing-white-76300) Maximum launch time 3 months.
5. Only some antifouling paint brands are available in the local market. these are Hempel, International paints and Jotun.

thank you for your support

grady.GIF

ScottyCee

Reaction score
Model
Sailfish
Bottom paint can be a religious issue - you are likely to get a wide variety of experiences and opinions. And this is expected. There are as many experiences as there are different sets of conditions including water temperature, marine life, time on and off of trailer, docking/mooring, etc., etc. You will be ahead of the game if you research what others use in your area.