Why a Grady?

Jargon

Reaction score
Hello All, total newb Jargon here!

I’ve learned an awful lot about my motorcycles on an owner’s forum, then finally began to contribute there as well. Looking to do the same here.

Looking to retire to our bayside home on the OBX in a couple years, and guess what I need? A boat! I’ve been scouring Craigslist, getting ideas on styles, pricing, et, al, and finally decided on a Grady with a modest cabin, head, as well as fishing deck. The layout of the Gulfstream is what attracted me to the brand, as it is a little bit of everything that I believe I want in a boat...a little fishing, a little cruising, private under deck facilities for the wife boss, it seems to have everything!

After more research, I’ve narrowed it down to a 23-28 footer, which encompasses several Grady models.

What I’m looking to achieve:

1) cruising Albemarle Sound, I need to deal with 6” water depths outside the channels
2) the sound is quite large, so I need to be able to get home if the weather kicks up
3) room for up to 6, possibly 8, for slow sunset cruises
4) the ability to go out to the Gulfstream 2-3x per year, which means,
A) cruising range
B) ability to handle open waters in a bad scenario
5) under deck facilities for the ladies

I think the 23-28’ Hull will accommodate most of those needs.
I also want 4-stroke outboards, single, or a pair, don’t know which, so I can tilt the motors in the shallows.

In time, I can probably figure most of this out, but what I really would like to know, is why a Grady? They ‘appear’ to have created this style of boat with the modest cabins, but it also appears that many others have copied the design, and they are quite a bit cheaper...Albemarle, Mako, Robalo, and a couple others I can’t remeber the names of.