yamaha mechanic

fshlbi

Reaction score
i am new to boating in delaware (lewes, rehoboth, indian river area) and have an older yamaha. i have had some trouble with it lately and am looking for a good yamaha mechanic to look at it and tell me whether it is worth working on or am better off repowering. engine ran strong for a season, then the oil pump starting overfilling the remote tank and dumping oil all through the carburetor cover. that seems to be fixed now, but the biggest issue seems to be that it is just plain running like crap. sounds awful. misses, and it just sounds like the carberation is all fouled up.

i am hoping there is not a problem with a cylinder. all cylinders were okay with compression meter, but the bottom port one is a little weak. 120/119 on five. but 110 on that weak one.

anyway, i have poured enough money trying the diy method, and i am just looking for a good mechanic to take it to who will give me honest opinion as to whether i am chasing bad money with good.

jbrinch88

Reaction score
fshlbi said:
i am new to boating in delaware (lewes, rehoboth, indian river area) and have an older yamaha. i have had some trouble with it lately and am looking for a good yamaha mechanic to look at it and tell me whether it is worth working on or am better off repowering. engine ran strong for a season, then the oil pump starting overfilling the remote tank and dumping oil all through the carburetor cover. that seems to be fixed now, but the biggest issue seems to be that it is just plain running like crap. sounds awful. misses, and it just sounds like the carberation is all fouled up.

i am hoping there is not a problem with a cylinder. all cylinders were okay with compression meter, but the bottom port one is a little weak. 120/119 on five. but 110 on that weak one.