Yamalube vs. Other

Guido19

Reaction score
Model
Chase
What is the consensus regarding using other brands of 2 stroke oil vs yamalube? For instance, West Marine TC-W3. Thank you!

SkunkBoat

Reaction score
Website
www.youtube.com
Model
Express 265
Yamalube is a waste of money. Don't drink the koolaid.

West Marine is fine when you buy it 2 for 1, otherwise go to Wallymart and get theirs for $14 or go to any auto store and get Pennzoil for $20

Reactions: RussGW270

seasick

Reaction score
Which grady do you have and what year? How long have you been using Penzoil? Thanks!
Motor is SX150. I have been using Penzoil for 8 years or more. I started out with Yamalube but after my second mortgage to buy Yamalube (tee hee) I tried other brands.
I have used the West Marine oil ( the more expensive product) but West Marine closed the store near me so I started to shop for XLF at Walmart. My motor is just about 20 years old so I can't complain.

Parthery

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
I’ve used Pennzoil XLF for at least 20 years. Never once had an oil related issue.

$17/gallon at Walmart or Academy all day long.

Reactions: RussGW270

Doc Stressor

Reaction score
Model
Seafarer
All TC-W3 oils provide adequate lubrication. Some are a bit better than others. Yamalube contains a lot of molybdenum anti-wear additive, which gives it a characteristic dark color. This protects the engine, but the downside is that there tends to be more combustion deposits relative to some other TC-W3 oils. RingFree cleans these up, but that increases the cost even further. Lots of people have had good luck with Pennzoil XLF and most find that this semi-synthetic blend produces less smoke and fewer deposits.

wspitler

GreatGrady Captain
Reaction score
Model
Express 330