Thru Hull transducer

OutReach

New Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2019
Messages
4
Likes
0
Points
1
Age
68
Grady White Model
Sailfish
#1
Hi, I’m new to this forum, I bought a GW 1995 272 Sailfish last July, and I’m now updating all the electronics. I’m installing the nss12 evo3 with 4g radar. I fish in So Cal, and thinking of using a B75M thru hull and the active imaging 3 in 1 transom mount. My question is if I mount the B75M at the transducer flat area indentation will it work or will there be to much water disturbance for it to work. Also is there any other suggestions for transducers, the trailer has rollers so it needs to be low profile.
Thanks
Jim
 

Denko

GreatGrady Captain
Joined
Sep 21, 2015
Messages
67
Likes
3
Points
8
Location
SE Michigan
Grady White Model
Gulfstream
#2
I'm not sure about transducer location on your boat, but for what it's worth the airmar thru-hulls are supposed to be able to support quite a bit of weight. With that said I don't think I'd want mine resting on a roller long term...
 

OutReach

New Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2019
Messages
4
Likes
0
Points
1
Age
68
Grady White Model
Sailfish
#3
I'm not sure about transducer location on your boat, but for what it's worth the airmar thru-hulls are supposed to be able to support quite a bit of weight. With that said I don't think I'd want mine resting on a roller long term...
Thanks for replying, I talked to a GW dealer and he said the B75M won’t work in the flat transducer area, to much disturbance so I will have to put it in another location.
 

Doc Stressor

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2009
Messages
667
Likes
21
Points
18
Location
Homosassa, FL
#4
It's best to mount a 20 degree B75 on the V portion of the hull near the centerline. Anywhere aft of the hull's midpoint is usually fine. Avoid any flat areas including the strakes. These parts of the hull are intended to lift the hull, so they grab a lot of air and turbulence.
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2015
Messages
16
Likes
0
Points
1
#5
I have a 1998 272 and use a B285H-W if your going to spend that much on new electronics dont cheap out on the transducer. Im in So Cal as well (San Diego) and if you want to see mine it's on a trailer. Plus Im on Simrads Pro-Staff Ill help you get it dialed in.
 

Sdfish

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2013
Messages
56
Likes
6
Points
8
#6
Great to see others from San Diego and So Cal on this forum! I'm in San Diego as well.

Papa J - do you support other electronics? I'm mostly interested in Garmin Echo 9sv and hooking it up to an older Raymarine S1000 autopilot.
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2019
Messages
4
Likes
0
Points
1
Age
68
Grady White Model
Sailfish
#7
Great to see others from San Diego and So Cal on this forum! I'm in San Diego as well.

Papa J - do you support other electronics? I'm mostly interested in Garmin Echo 9sv and hooking it up to an older Raymarine S1000 autopilot.
I have a 1998 272 and use a B285H-W if your going to spend that much on new electronics dont cheap out on the transducer. Im in So Cal as well (San Diego) and if you want to see mine it's on a trailer. Plus Im on Simrads Pro-Staff Ill help you get it dialed in.
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2019
Messages
4
Likes
0
Points
1
Age
68
Grady White Model
Sailfish
#8
Thanks for the reply, I went with the B75M and the 3 in 1 transom mount and installed them about 2 weeks ago, although I haven’t taken the boat out yet. I could use some help dialing it in.
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2015
Messages
16
Likes
0
Points
1
#9
Great to see others from San Diego and So Cal on this forum! I'm in San Diego as well.

Papa J - do you support other electronics? I'm mostly interested in Garmin Echo 9sv and hooking it up to an older Raymarine S1000 autopilot.

Im on Simrad Pro-Staff so I don't really know much about the other brands., If your electronics are NMEA 2000 then it probably wont work. You would have to convert to NMEA0183 then you should be able to use the AP and Nav together. I am assuming the goal is to have your AP go to a specific coordinate on the chart plotter?