Transom edge seperating under alum mold'g

82seafarer

Reaction score
I took the aluminum molding off around the transom (of my 82 Seafarer outboard)and the fiberglass has cracked and broken away where it meets at the edge ! It almost seems as if the wood inside probably swelled a bit and then caused it to break and then start to pull away from each other about 1/16 of an inch ! I am assuming that I am not the only one that this has happened to cause' it looks like a poor design. My question is what do I do about it ? I think the transom is solid (at least it appears to be) and when I jump up and down on the outboard cavitation plate it does not appear to flex much. The boat is on the trailer.
I was thinking of just cleaning up the jagged break and caulking it cuz I am guessing that by just glassing over the break it will just break again and keeping water out is the main concern - but I am no expert. The aluminum probably needs to be re-drilled in spots and maybe I will use those "saucer" looking washers to keep the screw heads from pulling thru again in spots.
Has anyone tackled this project at all ? Any help would be GREATLY appreciated. Thanks.

seasick

Reaction score
This is a fairly common occurrence on Gradys. It is difficult to tell if the transom is wet ( really wet) without a moisture meter and someone who knows how to use it.
You can stick an ice pick or a screwdriver into the transom core from the top to try and judge how mushy it is. Unfortunately, a wet transom may not show up until there is delamination of the glass or structural failure.
If the rot or wetness is limited to the top edge only, it can be sealed with epoxy resin. If there is some rotten wood that has to be removed and it is just the top 1/4 inch or so, Marinetex can be used.
If the rot goes deeper, you have to have it looked at.
Note that if the transom is wet, the sealing will just trap the moisture.