Windlass - opinions please

SkunkBoat

Active Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2017
Messages
484
Likes
37
Points
28
Location
Manasquan Inlet NJ
Website
www.youtube.com
Grady White Model
Express 265
#21
I agree with Ice. Taper them.

About 3 strands from the right, something looks out of place. Is it just the angle and the way it is showing in the picture?
Its not finished in the picture. and there is a piece of black tape in the middle
 
Last edited:

SkunkBoat

Active Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2017
Messages
484
Likes
37
Points
28
Location
Manasquan Inlet NJ
Website
www.youtube.com
Grady White Model
Express 265
#22
I couldn’t work out how to have the pic and the text hahah

My beast showing the winch, it’s massive but strong as a bull and the diameter pulls up the anchor in no time, also I have a sock over the chain and so it is silent going over the roller .... every 10m I have some blue cord spliced into the rope so I know how much I have out .... no water, sand or weed gets into my bilge from the winch anymore.....
WOW! I have never seen anything like that.
Looks like something they'd have in Louisiana...they always have weird sh....
 

journeyman

GreatGrady Captain
Joined
May 12, 2008
Messages
678
Likes
10
Points
18
Location
Gloucester, MA
Grady White Model
Marlin
#23
Will these splices work on a windlass or will I have to taper them? 5 or 6 tucks each way
I consider myself a B- when it comes to splicing. Better with 3 strand, lots of back splices and loops but no anchor splices. Plaited line is a little trickier. Done some loops and one anchor splice which worked so, I guess, OK.

First, and I think you know this already, no loose ends. Stating the obvious.....
Second, there looks to be a hole there. Mis-tuck???
Third, that doesn't look like nylon. Lewmar specifies it. Is it Cotton?

I see your inner "Yankee Frugality" is showing but 3 strand nylon is CHEAP! Why not save yourself and buy what you want. No splices, no headaches.

A splice to be used in a windlass needs to be flexible. Too big and tight, it won't fit. Too loose and it will snag and fray. One trick is to splice it snug a few tucks then roll it in your palms to loosen/even it out. Tapering plait is easy. You are working with 4 pairs so you just cut, burn and drop one from each pair for a few tucks. I've never had to taper 3 strand, I guess you could halve each strand then cut, burn and drop for a few tucks.
 

SkunkBoat

Active Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2017
Messages
484
Likes
37
Points
28
Location
Manasquan Inlet NJ
Website
www.youtube.com
Grady White Model
Express 265
#24
I consider myself a B- when it comes to splicing. Better with 3 strand, lots of back splices and loops but no anchor splices. Plaited line is a little trickier. Done some loops and one anchor splice which worked so, I guess, OK.

First, and I think you know this already, no loose ends. Stating the obvious.....
Second, there looks to be a hole there. Mis-tuck???
Third, that doesn't look like nylon. Lewmar specifies it. Is it Cotton?

I see your inner "Yankee Frugality" is showing but 3 strand nylon is CHEAP! Why not save yourself and buy what you want. No splices, no headaches.

A splice to be used in a windlass needs to be flexible. Too big and tight, it won't fit. Too loose and it will snag and fray. One trick is to splice it snug a few tucks then roll it in your palms to loosen/even it out. Tapering plait is easy. You are working with 4 pairs so you just cut, burn and drop one from each pair for a few tucks. I've never had to taper 3 strand, I guess you could halve each strand then cut, burn and drop for a few tucks.
It is nylon. just a few years old, some is limp so strands want to flatten out. the "hole" is a pice of black tape.
I did these splices with the idea of getting rid of really bad knots that were there. Wasn't thinking about eventual windlass.
If I get one I will have to redo them and taper. I am way to cheap to buy 800ft of line when I already have it....

I need to get a cutter for my soldering gun. That will make it neater.

I suppose a horizontal windlass will pass a splice better than a vertical since it only bends 90 degrees?
 

DennisG01

GreatGrady Captain
Joined
Sep 1, 2013
Messages
2,422
Likes
43
Points
48
Location
Allentown, PA & Friendship, ME
Grady White Model
Offshore
#25
Its not finished in the picture. and there is a piece of black tape in the middle
Gotcha.

Ozz... That drum is huge! You sure that's not supposed to be at the stern to pull in the fishing net? :)

Aesthetically, I don't think "it's for me", but it's interesting to see different ways of doing things. I do wish Grady would get with the times and start building the anchor locker as a separate compartment from the rest of the cabin so it can self drain directly overboard. I'm actually considering rebuilding the anchor locker so it does just that. Been thinking about it for 3 years now, though... other projects always seem to take priority.
 

journeyman

GreatGrady Captain
Joined
May 12, 2008
Messages
678
Likes
10
Points
18
Location
Gloucester, MA
Grady White Model
Marlin
#26
I am way to cheap to buy 800ft of line when I already have it....
Just an opinion but if you're gonna possibly lay out 800' of line at times, the V700 is probably not the windlass you should consider. I've had 2 of them and they are good light to medium duty. Definately need something beefier! Another reason I use a retrieval ball.
 
Joined
Jul 6, 2012
Messages
195
Likes
8
Points
18
Age
70
Location
Chapel Hill and Pine Knoll Shores, NC
#28
Ozz's winch looks like a Mick, which is built down under.
http://www.mickswinch.com.au/winches/

Muir make a small one.
https://www.keoghsmarine.com.au/mui...wer-up-and-down-suits-most-5-8m-boats-f331002

They are more common than I would have thought, but I guess it makes sense for commercial boats. There is one that is pretty common here, in the larger cruiser category(retirees), that has a wider drum, but I didn't see it pictured.

https://www.google.com/search?client=firefox-a&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:eek:fficial&biw=818&bih=486&tbm=isch&sa=1&ei=HgtfXJqtH4K1_Abk2o3gDA&q=drum+anchor+winch&oq=drum+anchor&gs_l=img.1.0.0j0i5i30l2j0i8i30j0i24l6.15391.15391..18029...0.0..0.56.56.1......0....1..gws-wiz-img.cw-w10kqbDI

This is exactly what I do for fids. I have a box of various sizwd needles that I pick up in thrift shops for small change.
 
Last edited:
Likes: Ozz043

SkunkBoat

Active Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2017
Messages
484
Likes
37
Points
28
Location
Manasquan Inlet NJ
Website
www.youtube.com
Grady White Model
Express 265
#29
I was looking at a pro fish on ebay but the bids went to high for taking a chance on a used one.

Anybody out there use just a capstan? There'd be no issues with line jams, splices, clutches,....still do the main job...saving our backs.... Looking at Maxwell Anchormax

 

DennisG01

GreatGrady Captain
Joined
Sep 1, 2013
Messages
2,422
Likes
43
Points
48
Location
Allentown, PA & Friendship, ME
Grady White Model
Offshore
#30
I think the rope may start to pull off the top as you pulled it in, given the angle you would be pulling from would be quite a bit higher than it. Maybe not - but it seems like a possibility. If you bent over to do any pulling, it would put a strain on your back and be an awkward pull. Instead, just use the anchor roller like normal - but maybe step back further, or just sit on the cabin ceiling and brace a foot against the back edge of the anchor locker. That will at least allow for a straight line pull. Either way, you'd need a helper to drop the line into the locker to make this efficient.

Here's that Good windlass I mentioned.
http://www.clubsearay.com/index.php?threads/good-automatic-windlass.91178/
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2014
Messages
143
Likes
4
Points
18
#33
Glacier you’re spot on, it is a Micks winch.
Ugly as hell but it is perfect for the fishing we do here in South Australia...therefore a common site on most boats